## Information on the designation of international risk areas

Current at: 31 July 2020

Changes since last amendment: Spain - the Autonomous Communities of Aragon, Catalonia and Navarre are currently considered as risk areas.

The countries listed below are designated as currently presenting an increased risk of infection with SARS-CoV-2.

Persons entering the Federal Republic of Germany, who have spent time in a risk area at any specific period within 14 days prior to entry, may be subject to quarantine under the specific quarantine ordinances issued by the competent federal state (Land).

**Please note:** The Federal Government examines, on an ongoing basis, the extent to which areas are to be classified as risk areas. As a result, this list can be modified at short notice and, above all, may be extended. Directly before embarking on your journey, please check whether you have spent time in one of these areas in the last 14 days before entering Germany. Should this be the case, you must expect to be subject to quarantine.

The existing travel and safety advisories by the Federal Foreign Office as well as the Federal Government's information for travellers and commuters (<a href="https://www.bundesregierung.de/breg-de/themen/coronavirus/corona-regelungen-1735032">https://www.bundesregierung.de/breg-de/themen/coronavirus/corona-regelungen-1735032</a>) still apply.

- Afghanistan
- Albania
- Algeria
- Angola
- Antigua and Barbuda
- Argentina
- Armenia
- Azerbaijan
- Bahamas
- Bahrain
- Bangladesh
- Barbados
- Belarus
- Belize
- Benin
- Bhutan
- Bolivia
- Bosnia and Herzegovina
- Brazil
- Burkina Faso
- Burundi
- Cameroon

- Cape Verde
- Central African Republic
- Chad
- Chile
- Colombia
- Comoros
- Costa Rica
- Côte d'Ivoire
- Cuba
- Djibouti
- Dominica
- Dominican Republic
- DR Congo
- Ecuador
- Egypt
- El Salvador
- Equatorial Guinea
- Eritrea
- Eswatini
- Ethiopia
- Gabon
- Gambia
- Ghana
- Grenada
- Guatemala
- Guinea
- Guinea-Bissau
- Guyana
- Haiti
- Honduras
- India
- Indonesia
- Iran
- Iraq
- Israel
- Jamaica
- Kazakhstan
- Kenya
- Korea (Democratic People's Republic, North Korea)
- Kosovo
- Kuwait
- Kyrgyzstan
- Lebanon
- Lesotho
- Liberia
- Libya
- Luxembourg
- Madagascar

- Malawi
- Maldives
- Mali
- Mauritania
- Mexico
- Mongolia
- Montenegro
- Morocco
- Mozambique
- Namibia
- Nepal
- Nicaragua
- Niger
- Nigeria
- North Macedonia
- Oman
- Pakistan
- Palestinian territories
- Panama
- Papua New Guinea
- Paraguay
- Peru
- Philippines
- Qatar
- Republic of Moldova
- Republic of the Congo
- Russian Federation
- Rwanda
- Saint Kitts and Nevis
- Saint Lucia
- Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
- São Tomé and Príncipe
- Saudi Arabia
- Senegal
- Serbia
- Seychelles
- Sierra Leone
- Somalia
- South Africa
- South Sudan
- Spain- the following Autonomous Communities are currently considered as risk areas:
  - o Aragon
  - o Catalonia
  - o Navarre
- Sri Lanka
- Sudan
- Suriname
- Syrian Arab Republic

- Tajikistan
- Tanzania
- Timor Leste (East Timor)
- Togo
- Trinidad and Tobago
- Turkey
- Turkmenistan
- Uganda
- Ukraine
- United Arab Emirates
- USA
- Uzbekistan
- Venezuela
- Yemen
- Zambia
- Zimbabwe

Classification as a risk area is the result of a joint analysis and decision-making process by the Federal Ministry of Health, the Federal Foreign Office and the Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community. This classification as a risk area is based on a two-step assessment. Initially, it is determined in which countries/regions there were more than 50 new infections per 100,000 inhabitants in the last seven days. In a second step, qualitative criteria are used to determine whether or not countries/regions that might nominally fall below this threshold could nonetheless still present an increased risk of infection. As part of the second step, particularly the Federal Foreign Office and, where relevant, the Federal Ministry of Health and the Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community, provide qualitative reports based on reporting by the local German diplomatic representations, which also covers measures taken to halt the spread of the coronavirus pandemic. Key factors in this assessment are above all the numbers of infection and the type of outbreak (local or wide-spread), testing capacities and the number of tests carried out per capita as well as the measures taken to contain the spread of infection (hygiene regulations, contact tracing, etc.). Similarly, this also takes into account individual countries where reliable information may not be readily available.